If you face a criminal charge in Ramsey, MN, call the criminal lawyers at Barna, Guzy & Steffen who have been providing legal representation to residents of Minnesota since 1938.
Our Ramsey criminal attorneys bring a wealth of experience to your case with backgrounds in public and private criminal defense. Some of the types of criminal cases we’ve handled include:
|– DUI/DWI (and all other traffic related offenses)||– Drug Crime Charges|
|– Misdemeanor||– Sex Crime Charges|
|– Gross Misdemeanor||– Homicide|
|– Felonies||– Theft and Property Crimes|
|– Assaults||– Expungement|
|– Domestic Crime Charges|
As experienced criminal lawyers, we will pursue your defenses as aggressively as possible!
|Our Team of Experienced Ramsey Criminal Lawyers|
|Erickson, Jon P.||Sauter, Douglas G.||Villarreal, Adriel B.|
What are the Types of Sentences in DWI Cases?
Were you convicted of a DWI in Ramsey, Minnesota? Then you need to know the types of sentences that can be handed down in DWI cases.
Depending on if it is your first or fourth time to be convicted of a DWI; there are mandatory minimum sentences you should know. You need to take your DWI case seriously, since it could affect you for the rest of your life.
Fourth Degree DWI (First Time) Sentence
If this is your first time being convicted of a DWI, the judge can sentence you a maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. Remember, this is the maximum, but it doesn’t mean you’ll get this sentence.
Third and Second Degree DWI Sentences
The third and second degree DWI’s are misdemeanors, and can carry a maximum sentence of one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine. You may need to complete alcohol assessment classes and follow the recommendations and community service hours as a lower sentence.
First Degree DWI Sentence
A first degree DWI is a felony, and it can carry a lengthy sentence of up to 7 years in prison and/or a $14,000 fine. If this is your fourth DWI within 10 years, our attorneys can argue for a reduced sentence, which can include a sentence to service work program, home monitoring, staggered sentencing, and jail time.
The sentence you receive will depend on the type of DWI that was charged to you, and if it is your first or if you are a repeat offender. Keep in mind if it is your second DWI within 10 years of your first, there will be a mandatory 30-day jail sentence, for your third in 10 years, it is mandatory to have a 90-day jail sentence.
Sentences can and will vary depending on each case. Contact our DWI criminal lawyers today to discuss your case.
This article is intended to provide general information only and should not be used as a substitute for legal counsel or advice. Please contact the attorneys at Barna, Guzy & Steffen, Ltd. to inquire about any information herein.