You can’t control anyone else’s actions behind the wheel, but you can control your own. Prevention is the key. What should you do to prevent an accident? 1. Be Cautious of Blind Spots Your side mirrors and rearview mirror can be adjusted to provide a panoramic view behind you, but there is always a chance a vehicle can enter your blind spot. This is the space where your side mirror and rearview mirror fail, leaving you with the inability to see the vehicle right next to you. Other drivers will have these blind spots, especially when you’re driving right next to them or are coming up to pass them. Looking over your shoulder before switching lanes will help you to avoid blind spot accidents. 2.
When bikes collide with vehicles, the result can be disastrous – and oftentimes, fatal. If you’re hit while riding your bicycle, it’s important to remain calm. The actions you take immediately following the accident may impact your financial recovery for damage to your bike and injuries. Follow these steps if you’re hit on a bicycle. Get Medical Attention First and foremost, get medical attention if you’re seriously injured. Your health should be your top priority, and getting medical care as soon as possible is the only way to be sure you have documentation of your injuries. Contact the Police The second most important step is to contact the police, and make sure that you wait for them to arrive at the scene. File a..
BY: Bradley A. Kletscher In July 2015, medical cannabis became legal in Minnesota for a limited purpose. Under this new law, persons registered under Minnesota’s Medical Marijuana Law (“MMML”) can engage in possession and use of “medical cannabis”. Under MMML, medical cannabis means “any species of the genus cannabis plant, or any mixture or preparation of them delivered in liquid or pill form.” Patients can use a vaporized delivery so long as it does not require leaves. In order to register, a health care practitioner must certify that a patient suffers from a “qualifying medical condition.” After patients receive certification, they have 90 days to submit a patient application for enrollment to the registry program. Patients have to reapply annually within 90 days of the..
On Saturday, December 12, Associate Attorney Dave Schaps performed the role of Arbitrator at the Hamline University’s Center for Public Administration and Leadership graduate level Arbitration class, which was conducted by Professor Craig Waldron. Dave arbitrated the class’s final project, which involved a mock employment grievance dispute between a City and a police officer held in accordance with the terms of a collective bargaining agreement. The class of approximately 25 students came extremely prepared to serve in the various roles of giving witness testimony and conducting direct and cross examination, which contributed greatly to the learning experience in the class. Dave’s role was to conduct and moderate the course of the arbitration, and to deliver a decision at the conclusion of the proceedings. In..
Criminal charges will stay on your record. Getting these charges dismissed is the best way to beat a charge and finally be able to move on with your life. While the obvious choice is to hire a criminal defense attorney to help you beat your charges, there are some vital steps that will need to be taken when a case goes to dismissal. 1. Understand Grounds for Dismissal Dismissal may come from the following: Lack of probable cause Lack of evidence Illegal stop and search Improper filing Lack of key witness Normally, dismissals will only occur before an appeal, but there is a chance that if an appeal is won, all charges will be dismissed. 2. View Your Options As you now understand, there..